Computer Science

Computing & ICT

Years 7 and 8

Our computing curriculum at key stage three covers 3 strands: Information Technology, Digital Literacy and Computer Science.

Students learn how to use computer systems confidently and effectively including a variety of hardware and digital applications such as Microsoft Office as well as the Adobe Suite of programs. They are taught how to be safe and secure when using computer systems. In addition they learn how to write computer programs to solve real problems which helps them to develop key skills including computational thinking, writing algorithms and problem solving which can be transferred to further learning and everyday life.

Year 9, 10 and 11

Unit title and descriptions Assessment and duration Assessment and duration Weighting
Computer systems
• Systems Architecture
• Memory
• Storage
• Wired and wireless networks
• Network topologies, protocols and layers
• System security
• System software
• Ethical, legal, cultural and environmental concerns.
1 hour 30 minutes
Written paper
80 marks
Computational thinking,
algorithms and programming
• Algorithms
• Programming techniques
• Producing robust programs
• Computational logic
• Translators and facilities of languages
• Data representation
Computational thinking,
algorithms and
programming (02)
80 marks
Written paper
(J276 – 03/04)
Programming Project
Programming project (03/04)
40 marks
Totalling 20 hours
Non-Exam Assessment
Controlled assessment
Programming task.


Years 12 and 13

Pearson BTEC Level 3
National Extended
Certificate in
Information Technology
360 GLH (475 TQT)
Equivalent in size to one
A Level
4 units of which 3 are
mandatory and 2 are external
Mandatory content (83%).
External assessment (58%)
This qualification is designed for
learners who are interested in an
introduction to the study of
creating IT systems to manage and
share information, alongside other
fields of study, with a view to
progressing to a wide range of
higher education courses, not
necassarily in IT.